HomeAstronomyLeptons: The elementary particles explained

Leptons: The elementary particles explained

Leptons are elementary particles, which means that they are not made from any smaller particles. 

There are six known types of lepton (12 if you count their anti-particles). Three of these are negatively charged particles: electrons, muons and tau particles. The other three are neutrinos, which are electrically neutral. There is a corresponding neutrino for each type of charged lepton, so we have the electron neutrino, the muon neutrino and the tau neutrino.

- Advertisment -
Google search engine

Most Popular

Recent Comments