HomeAstronomyPew! Pew! Sun blasts two moderate solar flares in time for Star...

Pew! Pew! Sun blasts two moderate solar flares in time for Star Wars Day

While our sun merrily blasted two moderate-size solar flares in time for Star Wars Day, auroras are likely not our destiny yet.

NASA’s Solar Dynamics Observatory recorded two M-class outbursts that peaked on Tuesday (May 3) at 8 p.m. EDT (0000 GMT on May 4) and on Wednesday (May 4) at 5 a.m. EDT (0900 GMT). Earth wasn’t quite in firing range of the stellar-sized cannon, so it’s unlikely we’ll see a sky show.

RELATED ARTICLES

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -
Google search engine

Most Popular

Recent Comments