HomeSpace NewsSee the first quarter moon on Saturday (Sept. 3)

See the first quarter moon on Saturday (Sept. 3)

The moon passes through its first quarter phase on Saturday (Sept. 3). During this lunar phase, the disc of the moon is nearly exactly 50 percent illuminated by the sun as seen from the Earth.

The half-illuminated moon will be viewable over New York at 7:42 p.m. ET (2342 GMT), located at around 23⁰ above the southern horizon as the sky darkens. The first quarter moon will set 3 hours and 47 minutes after sunset, at around 11:12 p.m. ET (0312 GMT on Sunday, Sept. 4).

RELATED ARTICLES

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -
Google search engine

Most Popular

Recent Comments