HomeSpace NewsSupermoon alert: The last supermoon of the year rises tonight!

Supermoon alert: The last supermoon of the year rises tonight!

The full moon of August, known as the Surgeon Moon, will occur tonight (Aug. 11) at approximately 9:36 p.m. EDT and 6:36 p.m. PDT (Friday at 01:36 GMT). 

It will occur when the moon is within 90% of its closest approach to Earth making it a “supermoon” according to Fred Espanak (opens in new tab) eclipse expert and retired NASA astrophysicist. 

RELATED ARTICLES

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -
Google search engine

Most Popular

Recent Comments