HomeAstronomyWatch a huge asteroid zoom safely past Earth, 10 times farther away...

Watch a huge asteroid zoom safely past Earth, 10 times farther away than the moon

You can tune in live Thursday and Friday (May 26 and 27) to watch an asteroid barrel past our planet at 10 times the distance of our moon.

The space rock is known as asteroid 7335 (1989 JA) and is four times the size of the Empire State Building. While that’s the largest asteroid flyby of 2022 yet, the rock will remain at a perfectly safe distance to our planet. The Virtual Telescope Project will run a webcast of the flyby beginning at 7 p.m. EDT (2300 GMT) on May 26 and again at 9 a.m. EDT (1300 GMT) on May 27; you can watch the flyby in the window above or directly through the project’s website (opens in new tab).

RELATED ARTICLES

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -
Google search engine

Most Popular

Recent Comments