HomeSpace NewsCelebrate NASA's Voyager mission at 45 with this free webcast tonight

Celebrate NASA’s Voyager mission at 45 with this free webcast tonight

NASA’s Voyager probes to interstellar space are icons of cosmic exploration, and you can celebrate their 45th anniversary with a free science webcast tonight (Aug. 18). 

The space agency’s Jet Propulsion Laboratory (JPL) in Pasadena, California will host a live lecture tonight at 7 p.m. PDT (10 p.m. EDT, 0200 GMT) to showcase the Voyager mission, which launched two spacecraft toward the outer solar system in 1977. The first of those to launch, Voyager 2, lifted off 45 years ago this weekend. 

Related: Celebrate 45 years of Voyager with amazing solar system images (gallery)

NASA’s Voyager 2 mission, which launched on Aug. 20, 1977, was the first of the twin Voyagers to launch to the outer solar system. (Image credit: NASA/JPL-Caltech)

Brian White of JPL’s Public Services Office will host the webcast, which will feature Voyager project manager Suzanne Dodd and be co-hosted by JPL spokesperson Calla Cofield. You can watch it in the live feed above or directly from JPL’s YouTube channel (opens in new tab).

RELATED ARTICLES

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -
Google search engine

Most Popular

Recent Comments